Driven by the idea of winning

Faiza Taoussara, Team France, training in Singapore

Faiza Taoussara, 17, of France, struggled to smile when she received her bronze medal at the taekwondo venue of the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore. Read on to find out more about what motivates her.

Taoussara, right, explodes through the air in training

Taoussara was extremely disappointed when she lost her semi-final, by decision after a scoreless overtime round. And it wasn’t about the decision. She had struggled all day to find the form that permitted her to win the Olympic qualifier earlier in 2010. She was just really upset with herself.

Speaking to her a week before the competition, it’s easy to understand why she feels this way. She is clearly motivated by the notion of WINNING every time out.

Here she is, in her own words:

“What I love about taekwondo competition is that I want to be THE one. I seek victory, and I crave the competition.”

“It’s a big honor to represent team France. I know there are a lot of people who want to represent team France.”

“I started in taekwondo when I was 6-years-old. My older brother was a champion and I wanted to be like him so I started to train. I was searching to emulate him because he is my role model. He was the best and I want to be the best, like him.”

“I watched the Olympics when I was younger, and it also made me want to be like all the champions.”

“My dream is always the same. I want to be a champion. I want victory. I want the gold medal. It’s always the same. All I think about is gold medal, gold medal, gold medal.”

Leave a Reply

